Skip to main content
Dr. Joey Newbigging Earns CAME Merit Award

Dr. Joey Newbigging, Program Director, Enhanced Skills Emergency Medicine, has earned the Canadian Association for Medical Education (CAME) Merit Award. This award recognizes faculty members who are exceptionally committed to medical education in Canadian medical schools.

Dr. Michael Green Co-Authors Report on First Nations and Diabetes

Dr. Michael Green is co-author of a first-of-its-kind report that demonstrates the number of First Nations people in Ontario living with diabetes is at an all-time high. 

Dr. Susan Phillips Appointed Walter Rosser Chair in Family Medicine Research

On the recommendation of Department Head Dr. Michael Green, Dr. Susan Phillips has been appointed Walter Rosser Chair in Family Medicine Research. Effective October 1, 2019, the appointment will continue until June 30, 2022.

Dr. Brittany Dyer Earns CFPC Award for Highest Marks

Dr. Brittany Dyer (Belleville-Quinte PGY2 graduate, June 2019), has earned this year’s College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) Bob Robertson CCFP Examination Award, which recognizes the individual who achieved the highest standing among family medicine residents in the CFPC’s Certification Examination in Family Medicine. The award is named in memory of Dr. Bob Robertson, CFPC president in 1980-1981. 

Dr. Fil Gilic Earns Queen’s Lectureship Award

Dr. Fil Gilic has won the Queen’s School of Medicine Aesculapian Society’s 2018-2019 Lectureship Award for undergraduate teaching. Nominated lecturers were those the Class of 2022 deemed to have made the most outstanding contribution to students’ education.  

This is the third time Dr. Gilic has won this annual award for teaching the Meds 115 course, which he teaches with Dr. Matt Simpson.


Drs. David Barber, Michael Green, and Catherine Donnelly (OT) are co-investigators on a $1.4-million project titled Determining the Impact of a Physiotherapist-Led Primary Care Model for Low Back Pain - A Cluster Randomized Controlled Trial.